3-D, Not For Me.


3-Dimensional Take Over

Now, call me old-fashioned, but I hate 3-D. I am not a person who does well with change (unfortunate, I know). I am accustomed to seeing my movies in 2-D. That makes sense to me. (Just like how I’m accustomed to the original hand-drawn animation of Walt Disney and my favourite shows on Nickelodeon, Cartoon Network and Disney Channel circa 90s-early 2000s).

I think that 3-D is absolute foolishness, AND it gives me a migraine. 3-D seems more like a fun park thrill ride as opposed to a relaxing, yet equally enjoyable, movie outing. The stigma (in my eyes, at least) is that you can’t truly take a 3-D film seriously. Imagine if Brokeback Mountain (2005) was 3-D. See what I’m saying?

It simply isn’t what true filmmaking is about- creating/telling a story to effectively and honestly depict to an audience. You may find 3-D effective and honest, but I simply don’t. I’m angry to tell you the truth, because 3-D is taking over. Movies are coming out in only 3-D now so I don’t even have a choice. I just simply won’t see it. For example, Despicable Me or the latest Shrek.

My point is, Hollywood, if you’re going to push this whole 3-D thing (which I desperately, desperately hope is just a fad), at least give the people a choice, because 3-D is literally a pain for some of us (headaches, nausea etc.)

Unite to take down the 3-D world domination.

One thought on “3-D, Not For Me.

  1. I almost tweeted about this the other day, because I also find it very gimmicky. While some movies might have benefited from 3-D (like Avatar, w/ all the special effects), I don’t see how putting out a children’s animated film really enhances the experience (esp. since 1/2 the audience is under 8, and they probably don’t keep the glasses on the whole time ANYWAY). Plus, it’s so expensive and doesn’t really add much.

    Good post!

Leave a Reply

