Jennifer’s Body (2009)


You got a tampon? You look like you might be pluggin’

Director: Karyn Kusama

Cast: Megan Fox, Amanda Seyfried, Johnny Simmons, Kyle Gallner, Adam Brody, J.K. Simmons

Genre: Horror

Type: Mainstream

Running Time: 102 minutes

Rated R (for sexuality, bloody violence, language and brief drug use)

I might be this film’s biggest fan. I saw it when it came out. I own the DVD. I’ve watched it a fafillion times over. I know it did not do well at the box office, despite Fox being a hot topic at the time of it’s release. I know a lot of critics had some awful things to say about it, despite what I felt was a damn good performance from Seyfried (by the way, that’s pronounced “SIGH-FRID”). I mean, she carried it. Regardless, I still love it and it has yet to get old for me.

Before Jennifer’s Body, I was one of those people that didn’t think much of Megan Fox. I thought she was the epitome of sexuality & of self-assurance, sure, but I didn’t think she had any acting chops or staying power. Now, I’m not about to go off into outer space giving her miles and miles of praises, but…she was not bad. She wasn’t. She conveyed each and every emotion more sufficiently and with flair than I thought she would. I was especially surprised at the scene where she managed to bring the waterworks (believable, eye-welling tears- not over the top bawling) to complement her fear. She delivered her lines well and suitably to her devious, sexy character- Jennifer Check. My point is, she really tried and for that, I applaud her. Fox is an actress who realizes that she is getting by because of her outstanding looks, and she is trying to evolve herself into more than just that. Her efforts definitely got me to appreciate her.

On the other hand, Amanda Seyfried was outstanding. Her performance got me to fall in love with her. I’d seen her in Mean Girls, Mamma Mia!, Alpha Dog and on the Tom Hanks produced series Big Love, but she wasn’t someone that immediately stuck in my mind for top talent, though I certainly did find her talented. She was free to stand out in this movie. And she showed her versatile acting chops that I dare any director to challenge. She brought a very rare honesty to Needy Lesnicki, that I thought would be difficult to pull off considering the wackyness of the script.  I mean, you think you could pull off pretending that your gorgeous best friend was kidnapped and showed up bloody one night at your house and then started eating boys, and you’re confused, but you have a sort of girl crush on her even though you know what she is doing is wrong and you’re scared and you don’t know what to do because you love her, but still, it’s not her anymore, it’s something truly evil and there’s no one who believes you and there’s nothing you can do to stop the madness? Yeahhhh, I wouldn’t try. Her character is at times needy, weak, bold, fierce and forever changed. I find some actors are over-expressive, which really isn’t necessary because the camera picks up everything. Seyfried possesses a very natural and honest presence, and is more than capable of delivering an intent or emotion simply in the most subtle tone of voice, or her large, expressive eyes.

The dialogue is fresh and new with lines like “You’re lime green jello and you can’t even admit it yourself”, “Wow, nice insult Hannah Montana” or “It smells like Thai food in here…have you guys been f*cking?” You should expect this kind of dialogue, considering it was written by Diablo Cody. That’s right. The same chick that wrote Juno and is desired by most actresses for writing powerful parts for women in a man-dominated Hollywood world.

The Long and Short: This is one of those movies that is an instant cult flick classic. It’s scary at times, but in such an inexplicably enjoyable way. The story line is fantastical and addictive, due in part to Fox’s presence, that’s for sure. It was very well cast and directed. It could have been terrible, but it wasn’t. It’s a film I put alongside the Elm Street series, the Friday the 13th series, Little Shop of Horrors and Rocky Horror Picture Show. It’s simply deliciously entertaining (and I don’t recommend you let your kids see it).

My Recommendation: If you like any of the hilarious/ supposed-to-be scary cult flicks I mentioned above, then this one’s for you!

Favourite Scene: Hmmm, this one’s a toughy. I’d have to say my favourite scene actually comes at the end during the rolling credits when Needy seeks revenge.

Verdict:  B

3 thoughts on “Jennifer’s Body (2009)

  1. OMGOODNESS. This movie was such a farce!! I watched it twice just because I couldn’t believe it the first time…

Leave a Reply

