The Twilight Saga: Eclipse (2010)


Edward’s old school. Gotta love that.

Director: David Slade

Cast: Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, Taylor Lautner, Dakota Fanning, Nikki Reed, Peter Facinelli, Kellan Lutz, Ashley Greene

Genre: Romance/Drama/Fantasy

Type: Mainstream

Running Time: 124 minutes

PG-13

The film adaptation of the madness that is Twilight began a mere two years ago, which appears as both a long and short time ago.  The fan base of the books was ecstatic to finally have faces to put the characters they had read about. That same fan base grew by leaps and bounds once they saw the face of Edward Cullen (Pattinson). Since 2008, it’s safe to say that The Twilight Saga has become an unavoidable, full-blown, cult phenomenon. Truly, this is like Marmite- you either love it or you hate it. You can lie to yourself as much as you want and claim you “hate it, but can’t look away”. It’s the juiciest guilty pleasure since  The O.C. ended (who can forget the drama that was Marissa and Ryan?).

Eclipse picks up with Edward back in Forks with his lovely Bella (Stewart). But of course, something has to happen to shake things up. A number of disappearances have been taking place in Seattle and an army is being amassed to come after the Cullens. Now, if you read the books, you already know the storyline. Jacob (Lautner) gets a little more forward about his feelings for Bella, and Bella finally acknowledges hers. “I know I make you nervous, Bella”. Oh no, Bella! Oh who, oh who will you choose?! For those of you who have not read the books, nor seen the movie yet, I won’t give it away. I will say that it’s predictable though. So please, save your dramatic GASP for someone who will pretend to be surprised with you.

I laughed throughout this movie. I really did. A lot of it was just so cliché. Then again, I had to remind myself, this is Twilight we’re talking about, not Saving Private Ryan. So, I tried my best to judge it as such and in terms of that, Eclipse was an improvement from the first two. The action was much better (but not necessarily Bruce Willis classic) than that awful ‘fight’ scene we witnessed in the first instalment. However, suddenly the vampires are…crystal? I mean it makes sense considering they ‘glisten’ in the bright sunlight, but perhaps it would have been better if this was implemented from the get-go. I hate when there is a lack of continuity. Speaking of, now Jasper (Rathbone) magically has a Texas accent? It was a good one, but all the same, completely out of left field. I actually went home and put in the DVD of the first one to see if he had that accent then and guess what? He didn’t.

I must appluad Pattinson’s improvement in his acting. I didn’t think he was particularly good initially (HELLO, let’s recall his portrayal of ‘smelling’ Bella for the time when she entered that classroom), but he has seemed to come into the character this time around. He has toned down some of the theatrics and developed a more complicated and earnest version of Edward without being too over the top. I am referring to his scene with Lautner in the tent to be specific. He managed to smirk and smile in all the right places, and his eyes read a lot more emotion than they did the first time around. Lautner also made some improvement and his meal ticket was clearly to not a wear a shirt for the better part of the movie. I’ll stop there though. However! I must say that Steven Strait is Jacob in my mind. I know there are those that agree. Stewart was Bella as per usual. I won’t bash her. Dakota Fanning stood out entirely from the group, which is remarkable considering she had a total of what, 15 minutes screen time?

There was a lot more kissing, but I personally didn’t feel that immense sexual tension that Meyer wrote about come through in the film. It was better in the first instalment. I mean, doesn’t she describe Bella as wanting more and more of Edward? That didn’t read through for me in Eclipse, despite the dialogue and actions between Stewart and Pattinson.

For the Twihards: It was good. Of course you have to see it, how can you not? It was true to the book and the wolves look great (in the lightest sense). Oh and Bryce Dallas Howard is no Victoria. I also think that  the epic Jacob-Bella kiss should have been way more intense.

For the rest of us: *SIGH. Well I didn’t jump up and down with excitement.  Something about the wolves seem too…fake…to me. Can they really not afford better CGI at this point? Honestly, Charlie (Billy Burke) is the best part of Twilight. He’s the only character that does not come off as absolutely ridiculous. Pattinson wasn’t bad and Stewart did her thing as usual. It was nice to finally see the stories of some of the other vampires for a change (i.e. Rosalie and Jasper). It was a much needed break from the Edward-Bella-Jacob triangle.  I’m not an actor or anything so really, who am I to judge? But some of the facial expressions were great for a laugh. Honestly, it was alright overall and you can appreciate the darker undertones of this one. If you want to watch something for a good time, then yeah, you could see this, especially if the vampire/wolf fad is something you’re into. At the same time, I do think there are other things out there you could watch that would be equally as satisfying.

Verdict:  C

One thought on “The Twilight Saga: Eclipse (2010)

  1. Good review. I liked that you did from a Twihard and a regular Joe perspective (:

    Personally, the best bits were Charlie, Riley, Dakota Fanning, and “new” Victoria. The worst bits were Bella/Edward’s sexual tension, Robert Pattinson’s tendency to sound like Marlon Brando circa THE GODFATHER, and Ashley Greene’s attempt at being a credible actor.

Leave a Reply

