The Social Network (2010)


Eduardo, it’s like a Final Club except WE’RE the President

Director: David Fincher

Cast: Jesse Eisenberg, Armie Hammer, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake, Joseph Mazzello, Rashida Jones

Genre: Biopic/ Drama

Type: Mainstream

Running Time: 120 minutes

Rated PG-13

So, if there’s anything I’ve noticed about people who are obsessed with film, it is not enough to simply say “That was so good” or “That was so bad” when asked about a film. When in like-minded company, a full-blown discussion into the depths of every aspect of the film is not uncommon. However, among people who want a straight answer, you’re not so free to express every opinion. This is why I love my blog. I can go on & on.

I was one of those people who was very skeptical about seeing this movie because I have a disgusting love/hate relationship with Facebook. I wasn’t sure whether I could find myself genuinely interested and unbiased enough to watch this film objectively or if I could even consider using my money to see it. Anyway, the months rolled on and soon enough, the release date was upon me. I was having a bad day and naturally, I headed to the cinema to ease my woes. I knew that despite my aversion to Facebook, this film would be a must see, so alas, I bought my ticket, my popcorn and went along my merry way to enjoy the blessing that is the movies. I was not disappointed, not in the least.

The “history of Facebook”, so to speak, was interesting to learn about. Of course, it is important to keep in mind that this is BASED on a true story. Don’t watch it and think you know everything. But it was informative still. The Mark Zuckerberg I loved in the film is not the same as the real Mark Zuckerberg. The Eduardo I so deeply sympathized with is not the same as the real Eduardo Saverin. Herein lies the danger with movies, to tell you the truth. There is a disconnect between reality and ficiton. But! That is a whole other post that would take me forever to type up. Back to my review!

The script was well-written, hands down. What else would you expect from Aaron Sorkin (A Few Good Men)? But we all know a great script does not a fantastic film make. The directing was a gem and the acting was refreshing and enthralling. People who have seen Eisenberg in The Squid and the Whale surely knew this would be a film he could carry. However, I didn’t know what to expect of Garfield or Timberlake and in the end I was pleasantly surprised. Garfield is a young man I had only previously briefly seen in 2007’s Lions for Lambs. So, naturally, as is with my personality, I was immediately drawn to him since he was a talent relatively unknown.  (I am a HUGE sucker for unknowns). I think he was absolutely fantastic. He is a true natural on screen and emotes with such ease it’s a bit unnerving. Timberlake was much better than I expected him to be. It’s Justin Timberlake after all. I’d rather sit and listen to him woo me with promises of writing me symphonies and telling me the life lesson of how what goes around comes back around but eh, he is growing on me as an actor.

I am most pleased with a film when all aspects of its production are equally successful. The editing, score, direction, screenplay, casting, advertising…everything… was tastefully done. Speaking of casting! I nearly forgot to talk about Rooney Mara! Rooney Mara was what I felt was my little secret. First saw her in Youth in Revolt and the remake of Nightmare on Elmstreet. She beat out tons of more well known up and comers for the role of Lisbeth Sander in the currently in post-production American version of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. The point is, she is no longer my little secret and she was perfect in this film. She, like Garfield, also possesses an unnerving ease with emoting. She really doesn’t need to try hard or at least if she is, we don’t know it.

The Long and Short: I enjoyed how well put together this film was and  furthermore, the score was wonderful. It went perfectly with the film.

My Recommendation: I do highly recommend this if you haven’t seen it yet and even if you have, dammit, watch it again & again! A great film to watch on your own should you be feeling down in the dumps and are in need of some inspiration. Also great to watch with friends who love movies as much as you do.

Favourite Scene: When Eduardo realizes he’s been duped out of Facebook and threatens Zuckerberg. Garfield’s anger is palpable, frightening and just so bad ass.

Verdict:  A+

Leave a Reply

