A Very Harold & Kumar 3-D Christmas (2011)


I don’t smoke weed anymore, Kumar.

Director: Todd Strauss-Schulson

Cast: John Cho, Kal Penn, Neil Patrick Harris, Danny Trejo

Genre: Comedy

Type: Mainstream

Rated R

Running Time: 90 minutes

So, sometimes, when a movie is the way it is, it’s hard to pin point whether it’s the writer’s fault, the actor’s fault or the director’s fault. This is one of those movies. Considering that one of the writers, Jon Hurwitz, has been on board with this franchise since the beginning, I’m gonna say it’s not the writers’ fault this fault.

Something about this instalment just wasn’t nearly funny enough. This one was really primarily comprised of racist jokes and crude humour (cue penis stuck to icy pole akin to A Christmas Story (1983) tongue-to-pole version).

Personally, I think the lack of genuine enthusiasm for hilarity in this instalment came as a result of the actors (perhaps Cho and Penn are tired of the same old story over and over again) and the director. I am really confused how Strauss-Schulson was really allowed to take the reigns on this well known (and loved by stoners world wide) franchise. I had to google who he is, and he hasn’t really even done anything well known…or good for that matter.

Now, I’m not purposefully trying to be harsh, but I was definitely expecting more out of this and I was personally let down. The fact that the word “3-D” was involved should have been the big slap-in-the-face clue that usually prevents me from spending money on utter rubbish. Alas, I let my friend pick the movie so, really, it’s my own fault. Sigh. There were some laughs here and there, but really, it fails in comparison to its predecessors. I am personally very concerned about the comedy genre nowadays, but that’s a topic for a whole other post.

Silver lining- Neil Patrick Harris’ presence was once again, a blessing.

The Long and Short: If you wanna get high (NOTE: I am NOT condoning lighting up a spliff and getting absolutely stoned out of your mind…) and have a giggle here and there, go ahead and watch this. But, you won’t be missing a damn thing if you never see this film.

My Recommendation: Just don’t bother. You’re better off  just watching the first and the second movies if you want to laugh.

Favourite Scene: Neil Patrick Harris’s musical number is a gem.

Verdict:  F+

Leave a Reply

