Looper (2012)


Director: Rian Johnson

Cast: Joseph Gordon Levitt, Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt

Genre: Action/ Sci-Fi

Type: Mainstream

Running Time: 119 min

Rated R (violence, strong language, drug content)

In short, the reviews I indulged in prior to seeing this film for myself pretty much said that Looper was “the best sci-fi film since Twelve Monkeys (1995)”; that statement immediately made me have very high expectations, I will certainly admit that. I also have to admit that I was already biased towards Looper because I was already an eager fan of Rian Johnson who had directed JGL previously in 2005’s Brick (a personal all-time favourite film).

My high expectations were not let down in the least. While I wouldn’t go so far as to put it above 12 Monkeys, I thought it was, pardon my slang, wicked cool.  To be honest, I was moderately interested right up until that one pivotal scene (if you’ve seen it you know what I’m talking about and if you haven’t seen it yet, you will) when I was mind blown. My jaw literally dropped open and I heard the words “holy fucking shit” slip out of my mouth in a soft whisper. I figured the kid was dangerous but not that dangerous.

I have to comment on Bruce Willis. I kept reading how this was the “role of Bruce Willis’ career”. To that I say: LOL NO. How can you possibly look at this man’s career, and tell me that this role was pivotal? It wasn’t terrible, don’t get me wrong, but he’s definitely done more epic roles. He didn’t really stand out to me in any significant way besides just another dude in the cast.

I think one of the things I enjoyed most was the cinematography. Honestly. Rian Johnson is an auteur, in my humble opinion. You watch his films, and you know it’s a Rian Johnson movie in the same way you watch a Tarantino movie and know it’s a Tarantino movie.  I like the way his style consists heavily of unexpected close-ups and low-level shots. There is also something about his 2-shots that remind me of the breakfast scene between Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta in Pulp Fiction. It’s seductive to me because the style feels like all the movies I loved growing up between 1996 and 2006.

The Long and Short: You find yourself captivated by the plot before it’s even 10 minutes in and only gets better from there. While I still don’t say it’s better than Twelve Monkeys, it’s certainly one of the best and original sci-fi films we’ve seen in the last decade.

My Recommendation: A must-see, no doubt.

Favourite Scene: When the kid reveals his little… talent.

Verdict:   A+

Leave a Reply

